Minutes of Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 21, 2016 Hemphill 124, ULM Campus 12:30 – 2:00 p.m.

* indicates excused absence; Name/Name indicates Moved/Seconded

Senators Present: Sandy Bailey, Debra Craighead, Gene Ellen, Karen Frye, Chris Gissendanner, Cecil Hutto, Faisal Kaleem, Kioh Kim, Sami Nazzal, Heather Pilcher, Savannah Posey, Josh Stockley, Claire Vangelisti,

Senators Absent: *Jeff Anderson, *Robert Eisenstadt,*Emad El-Giar, David Hare, Jessica Lassiter, Matt Lovett, John Nelson Pope, * Paul Wiedemeier

- **I.** Call to order
- II. Roll call
- III. Approval of Minutes- January, February, & March 2016; no changes without quorum
- **IV.** Committee Reports
 - A. Executive Committee Meeting Report- No Report
 - B. Academic Standards -No Report
 - C. Constitution and By-Laws- No Report
 - D. Faculty Welfare- No Report
 - E. Fiscal Affairs No- Report
 - F. Elections Committee-2 new senators-Welcome to Roger Carpenter, School of Humanities & Vonny Thornton from School of Nursing

V. Unfinished Business

- A. By Laws- Changes in wording from College to School sent to Mr. Wilkerson. no vote as no quorum
- B. General Education Assessment Committee-Senator Anderson reported that core curriculum was being overhauled. Four alternatives exist:
 - 1.) keep curriculum the same
 - 2.) Flexible option-reduces classes on list, remove some classes
 - 3.) have a new curriculum of interdisciplinary courses; or
 - 4.) Introduce 1 interdisciplinary course each category. April 26th vote on 4 options
- C. Update on Faculty Handbook-goal is to have a draft by the end of May; after committee meets, it goes to Dr. Pani for review, then FS to review. Final approval rests with Dr. Pani,
- D. Minutes from January, February, and March 2016 passed (Craighead/Bailey)
- E. By Laws changes replacing college with school passed (Bailey/Vangelisti)
- VI. New Business
 - A. Faculty Satisfaction Survey- summary presented to Dr. Pani, Deans, open meeting for general Faculty

VII. Adjournment 2:05pm

Respectfully submitted, Senator Karen Frye Faculty Senate Secretary