Article VI, Section 1 of the By-Laws

Committee members voted in favor of revising the language in Section 1 of Article VI of the by-laws as suggested by Dr. Dr. Chris Gissendanne, President, Faculty Senate.

The following is the original language of Article VI, Section 1 of the By-Laws:

The President shall appoint three senators to all standing committees with the exception of the Election Committee. The President shall appoint one senator from each academic college to serve on the Election Committee. A senator shall not be a member of more than two standing committees. Each standing and ad hoc committee shall have the authority to select non-senate members of the General Faculty to serve on that committee. Each standing and ad hoc committee shall elect its chairman.

The following is the revised language of Article VI, Section 1 of the By-Laws. Change made is underlined:

The President shall appoint <u>at least</u> three senators to all standing committees with the exception of the Election Committee. The President shall appoint one senator from each academic college to serve on the Election Committee. A senator shall not be a member of more than two standing committees. Each standing and ad hoc committee shall have the authority to select non-senate members of the General Faculty to serve on that committee. Each standing and ad hoc committee shall elect its chairman.