

STAFF SENATE MINUTES

MINUTES March 18, 2020 10:00 AM ZOOM Conference Call

President	Deborah Beaver
ATTENDEES	Senators: Colton Bernstein, Kristin Chandler, Fernando Cordova, Dan DeJarnette, Leslie Exmeyer, Andrew Hardee, Christie Hemphill, Erica Hopko, Sabrina McClain, Tommie Nelson, Meghan Olinger, Melissa Rhodes, Allison Thompson, Lamont Windom, and Hope Young. Visitors: Noelle Prestridge and Therese Filhiol Guest Speaker: Shane Dykes
ABSENT	Jason Dunavant

Agenda topics

DISCUSSION	Call to Order/Approval of Minutes

The March meeting location was moved to ZOOM Conference Call due to social distancing protocols enacted to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

The meeting was called to order by President Beaver. Motion to approve the February meeting minutes was made by Senator Meghan Olinger and seconded by Senator Christie Hemphill.

|--|

Shane Dykes updated the group about current COVID-19 information. He urged the group to trust the information coming from GOHSEP, CDC, and the President (of the United States) in reference to things coming out about the status of the spread and the prevention of the spread of the virus. At this time there are no confirmed cases within 100 miles. Anyone that has any of the symptoms of COVID-19 should call the doctor first. Do not inundate the ER with 2 or 3 of the symptoms. Those at greater risk of the virus effects are those that are older, pregnant, and individuals with lung and / or heart disease. He urged everyone to make sure they had 2 weeks of food and supplies available and to get ready and to stay at home or in the yard for 2 weeks.

Travel forms can be requested for anyone who travels based on a case by case for people for out of state travel and out of town travel and it can shut all down in the area of someone that has been exposed.

DISCUSSION Elections Committee Update

Senator Allison Thompson, Chair of the Elections Committee, reported that the committee had reviewed the by-laws and the current seat allowances for Senators. There will be 3 seats instead of 2 under the Academic Affairs unit. The president holds a seat, but the past president does not hold a seat. The position of past president is a voluntary assignment. Sabrina McClain and Tommie Nelson's seats are the current 2 seats and Debbie Beaver's seats will allow for one more. Academic Affairs seats for the upcoming election will include 2 seats with faculty rank and 1 seat without faculty rank. The timeline provided at the last meeting will be sent out again to all Senators for review. President Beaver urged the committee that the Senate should get with IT and get matters in place on the election soon (due to current uncertainties relevant to COVID-19).

DISCUSSION	Old Business
None	

DISCUSSION	New Business
None	

DISCUSSION New Business

There being no other business, a motion was made by Senator Leslie Exmeyer to adjourn, seconded by Senator Andrew Hardee. Motion passed.

The next meeting is currently scheduled for April 8, 2020, at 10:00 a.m. at ULIB 622.