

# STAFF SENATE MINUTES

MINUTES April 8, 2020 10:00 AM ZOOM Conference Call

President	Deborah Beaver
ATTENDEES	Senators: Colton Bernstein, Kristin Chandler, Fernando Cordova, Dan DeJarnette, Jason Dunavant, Leslie Exmeyer, Andrew Hardee, Christie Hemphill, Erica Hopko, Sabrina McClain, Tommie Nelson, Meghan Olinger, Melissa Rhodes, Allison Thompson, Lamont Windom, and Hope Young.
	Visitors: Dr. Nick Bruno, Mystee Burrell, Katie Dawson, Tammy Anderson, Kelli Cole, Mallory Benedetto, Jessica Griggs, Therese Filhiol, Dr. Kelsey Bohl, and Noelle Prestridge
	Guest Speaker: Dr. Janelle McDaniel
ABSENT	none

## Agenda topics

#### Opening Call to Order/Approval of Minutes

The April meeting was called to order by President Beaver. Motion to approve the March meeting minutes was made by Senator Allison Thompson and seconded by Senator Leslie Exmeyer. President Beaver announced that Dr. Nick Bruno was joining the group and had some updates.

Dr. Bruno provided campus updates. Pass/fail grading system was discussed. Walker innovations are still happening. August 8 is the tentative date for graduation (Spring graduates). There are 1100 potential graduate candidates for Spring. Dr. Jim Henderson will be the keynote speaker at the commencement.

# **Guest Speaker** Dr. Janelle McDaniel, Faculty Staff President

Dr. Janelle McDaniel updated the group on the ULM Presidential Search Committee. The search is continuing based on the timeline. Dr. Henderson and the Board members are very hands on in the process. April 15 is the deadline for applicants. The next committee meeting will be April 22. An interim president is a possibility. She will share requests for information about the process or comments to the committee for consideration. Those can be sent to her via email.

#### **Election Committee Update**

Senator Allison Thompson, Chair of the Elections Committee, reported that the Staff Senate web page has been updated for the election information and that nominations are ongoing.

### **Staff Senate Handbook Committee**

President Beaver reported that the updated Staff Senate Handbook would be sent to Melissa Ducote this week for her review.

## Discussion New Business

President Beaver asked the group for any comments on the Staff Senate involvement in the ULM Presidential Search Committee. There is concern no one from Staff Senate is part of the process. Comments can be sent to her and a draft sent on to the Search Committee.

Physical Plant is still open if anyone has needs. (Senator Hemphill)

There are 130 students remaining on campus. All students have been moved from the west side of the bayou to the east side in the area of Bayou Suites. (Senator Hardee)

CERT training has been postponed for due to the stay at home order. A new date has not yet been set for the training. (Senator Olinger)

Discussion	Old Business
none	

#### Adjournment

There being no other business, a motion was made by Senator Meghan Olinger to adjourn, seconded by Senator Andrew Hardee. Motion passed.

The next meeting is scheduled for May 20, 2020, at 10:00 a.m. via Zoom.

# Staff Senate Executive Council and Elections Committee Meeting April 29, 2020, 3:00 p.m. Zoom Meeting

The Staff Senate Executive Council and the Staff Senate Elections Committee met to conduct a tie-breaker determination in 2 of the organizational units. Those present for the meeting were: President Debbie Beaver, Vice President Allison Thompson, and Secretary Melissa Rhodes along with members of the Elections Committee: Chair Allison Thompson, Senator Meghan Olinger, and Senator Andrew Hardee.

Senator Thompson advised the Council that there would be 2 tie breakers needed and that according to the FAQs for elections, President Beaver must perform a coin toss. In both areas the candidate with the most employment seniority had been contacted prior to the meeting to choose heads or tails. All senators present witnessed the coin toss for each spot. The run-off areas includes:

Academic Affairs: Therese Filhiol and Jessica Griggs Coin Toss / Tie Breaker winner: **Therese Filhiol** 

Student Affairs: Mark Johnson and Meagan Lee Coin Toss / Tie Breaker winner: **Meagan Lee** 

As a result of the tie breakers, the final Staff Senate election outcomes included:

Academic Affairs with Faculty Rank: Mallory Benedetto, by acclamation

Academic Affairs: Mystee Burrell and Therese Filhiol

Athletics/President's Office: Benji Buffington and Hope Young, both by acclamation Information Services and Student Success: Dan DeJarnette and Robyn Jordan

Student Affairs: Meagan Lee

The Elections Committee recommendations for future elections included:

Members vote in the division they are in at the time that the eligible voters list is published. Senators send an email to staff within their division at the beginning of the election encouraging each staff member to vote.

President Beaver expressed appreciation to the Senate Elections Committee for their work on the election process.

Senator Thompson will release the results of the election today.

The official Senate Roster for the new term will be updated to include returning and new senate members.