

# STAFF SENATE MINUTES

MINUTES May 20, 2020 10:00 AM ZOOM Conference Call

President	Deborah Beaver
ATTENDEES	Senators: Colton Bernstein, Kristin Chandler, Fernando Cordova, Dan DeJarnette, Leslie Exmeyer, Andrew Hardee, Christie Hemphill, Erica Hopko, Sabrina McClain, Tommie Nelson, Meghan Olinger, Melissa Rhodes, Allison Thompson, Lamont Windom, and Hope Young.
	New Senators: Mallory Benedetto, Benji Buffington, Mystee Burrell, Therese Filhiol, Robyn Jordan, and Meagan Lee
	Visitors: Dr. Nick Bruno, Dr. Edwin Litolff, Noelle Prestridge, Jyssica Hattaway, Susan Chappell Keli Cole, and DeVaria Ponton
ABSENT	Jason Dunavant

## Agenda topics

## Opening Call to Order

The May meeting was called to order by President Beaver. Roll call by Secretary Melissa Rhodes. Motion to approve the April 8 Staff Senate Meeting minutes was made by Senator Dan DeJarnette and seconded by Senator Sabrina McClain. Minutes from the April 29 Staff Senate Executive Council and Elections Committee Meeting were included as part of the record.

President Beaver welcomed the new Senators to the meeting.

Dr. Edwin Litolff, Interim President and Dr. Nick Bruno both briefly addressed the Senate.

Dr. Litolff - Safety for the staff and the faculty is one of the current big concerns.

Trying to get plexiglass for those offices with visitors. Plan is to be on campus for face to face for the Fall.

Dr. Bruno – Meetings have been taking place with VPs.

Plan is for campus to be closed until Stage 3 on July 1.

Creating a plan for office social distancing.

June will be a transition period with Dr. Litolff with Dr. Bruno providing whatever help needed.

New Business	<b>ULM Presidential Search Committee and Survey Results</b>
--------------	---

President Beaver -

Search Committee Survey results and comments shared with Dr. Janelle McDaniel, Search Committee member. Survey results were provided to the rest of the search committee prior to their meeting and were to be included as part of the Search Committee minutes.

#### Discussion

Other New Business

Senator Hope Young -

A Facebook page would be helpful to the Staff Senate. It could be sanctioned by the University and would be an additional tool to help get the word out to staff about ongoing work. Motion was made by Therese Filhiol and seconded by Meghan Olinger to establish a Facebook page. A committee was created including: Hope Young, Debbie Beaver, Meghan Olinger, Christie Hemphill, and Lamont Windom to meet over the summer for immediate implementation.

Senator Thompson –

Introductory emails could be sent out by all Senate members of a specific organization unit division to their constituents. This would allow the Senate to communicate to Staff the representatives for their area and notify of upcoming elections.

## **Recognition of Outgoing Senators**

President Beaver recognized and thanked the outgoing Senators for their service. Outgoing members included: Colton Bernstein, Jason Dunavant, Sabrina McClain, Erica Hopko, Tommie Nelson, and Past President Kristin Chandler. Certificates will be forthcoming.

#### **Election of Officers**

Secretary nominations included Therese Filhiol and Christie Hemphill. Senator Filhiol withdrew. 2020-2021 Staff Senate Secretary: Christie Hemphill

Vice President nominations included Andrew Hardee and Melissa Rhodes. New Senators voted during the meeting via anonymous Zoom Poll. A roll call of new senators was completed to ensure the new senators were the only ones voting.

2020-2021 Vice President: Melissa Rhodes

Incoming President Allison Thompson appointed the 2020-2021 Parliamentarian: Dan DeJarnette

#### Transition of Presidents

Transition of presidents – President Allison Thompson now presiding. (Actual gavel transfer at a later time.)

## Adjournment

There being no other business, a motion was made by Senator Olinger to adjourn, seconded by Senator Hemphill.

The next meeting will be in June 24, 2020, at 10:00 a.m. via Zoom.